Saturday, 28 December 2013

Introducing S.K. Whiteside

World of Guardians Boxed Set
World of the Guardians #1-4

Welcome to the world of days past where the fight for the fate of mankind began, and legends and myths were born.

The World of the Guardians Vol. I complete set consists of bestselling shorts by Author S.K. Whiteside. It introduces you to the characters from her debut novel “Inheritance”, their backstories, and their roles in the ultimate battle for mankind.

In “VEXED” we meet the leader of the Guardians, the Goddess Isis. The grieving lover of Osiris and betrayed by those closest to her the Goddess sets forth on a path to revenge that ultimately becomes the fight for the very people her husband was sworn to protect.

In Fallen we meet Malachi, a Guardian Angel who makes the mistake of falling for one of his charges. After giving up his place in heaven, Malachi finds that the one he loves had a secret of her own.

In Haunted we rejoin Malachi as he seeks vengeance against those that have hurt him only to find himself haunted by his lost love.

In Scribe we pick up from key points in “VEXED” but follow a parallel timeline to “Inheritance”. We meet Tari a descendant of the Scribe that helped Isis in VEXED. You also receive a sneak peek at “Inheritance”. It’s a bonus read of epic proportions!

Inheritance: World of the Guardians
World of the Guardians #5

“Talk about hell on earth…”

Sekhmet’s life was pretty good; you know for a goddess. Her job was simple – kill those that sought to go against the creator. It was a job she was good at but unfortunately got a little too carried away with when she almost single handedly wiped out mankind. For her penance she has spent the last thousand years serving as one of the Guardians; a group of immortals that protect mankind and led by the Goddess Isis – who kind of had her own anger issues.

The Azura, a league of immortal bad asses, are literally trying to bring hell on earth and with it, Set – the banished God and ruler of the Makhaut. For the first time in history and with the help of the Makhaut, they may actually pull it off. Even the Guardians are at a loss.

In the Hail Mary of all attempts to save the world Isis, now going by Isira, sends Sekhmet to New Orleans, to find and protect the “Key” but when it is determined that a traitor lies among the Guardians, Sekhmet, now going by the name of Syn, is forced to seek help in the most unlikely of places…her least favorite person and fellow Guardian…Malachi.

What’s a former Goddess to do?

Oh yeah, kick butt and take names.

~ Review ~  

These books have an interesting mix of paranormal and Egyptian mythology and should be read alongside each other to get the most from the story. I found them an enjoyable read, which has a bit of everything, including humour, romance, action and adventure.  Inheritance ended in a good place, but there are many questions left unanswered and you can tell there is much more to come from the story and characters.

The 4 shorts give more depth to the World of Guardians series, and can be read either before or after Inheritance. Easy to read, I loved getting to know another level to the characters esp. Malachi, the author really managed to portray his pain.

About the Author

S.K. Whiteside is a reader, writer, and lover of all things dark and mysterious. She is a Mythic Fiction writer of Contemporary Urban & Historical Fantasy and most of her stories have a background in Egyptian Mythology with a modern day adaptation and unique twist. As an author her art of "teasing" is precise and her character interaction draws you in and makes the story play out like a movie in your mind. This is a talent that now all authors have, nor will they ever have.

Her debut story, "Fallen", was released in part March 2012 as a teaser to "Morbid Seraphic" her annual anthology with Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing. Even though it was only part of the story "Fallen" reached Top Ten status on Amazon sparking interest in Morbid Seraphic which later reached #1 in Amazon for Anthologies. Her follow up short story release "VEXED" was released November 2012. "VEXED" has and continues to be an Amazon Top 100 best selling paid Kindle release in three different countries. It served as the prequel to her debut full novel release "Inheritance". "Inheritance" was released June 1, 2013 and within the first week became an Amazon Top 100 best selling Kindle release in three countries simultaneously and going as high as #2 in Canada for two weeks straight. To date (June 25, 2013) Inheritance (as well as Vexed) maintains Top 100 status in at least two countries each between Canada, Spain, The United Kingdom, and the US interchangeably. While her eBooks are presently only available in Kindle her paperbacks are available worldwide.

When she is not writing S.K. Whiteside is a full time Mental Health Therapist. She began writing in Academia but decided that writing about things on the "other side of the veil" was a lot more interesting. Living in the paranormal capital of the world makes it fairly easy for her to come up with characters, many of which are based on of real personas in her life that can't help but carry over into her writing. 


No comments:

Post a Comment